Deborah Jay

Deborah Jay

Deborah Jay writes fast-paced fantasy adventures featuring quirky characters and multi-layered plots – just what she likes to read.

She lives mostly on the UK South coast, and has already invested in her ultimate retirement plan: a farmhouse in the majestic, mystery-filled Scottish Highlands where she retreats to write when she can find time. Her taste for the good things in life is kept in check by the expense of keeping too many dressage horses, and her utter inability to cook.

Her debut novel, epic fantasy The Prince’s Man, first in a trilogy and winner of a UK Arts Board award, was published in July 2013, with the sequel due out shortly.
Urban fantasy, Desprite Measures, published in December 2013 is the opening novel of the projected five book Caledonian Sprite Series, and the stand alone short story Sprite Night is also now available.

In 2014 she published the multi-author SFF anthology, The World And The Stars, which features her SF short story Perfect Fit.


The Prince’s Man (The Five Kingdoms Book 1)

Genre: Fantasy

Rustam Chalice is a devoted servant of his kingdom – a spy with some somewhat unusual talents. When a threat believed long dead suddenly proves very much alive, Rustam finds himself in the thick of things, along with the one woman in the kingdom who despises him.

She also happens to be the royal family’s assassin.

Together, they must find a way to save their kingdom;
if they can just manage not to kill each other first.

The Prince
Author Directory